United Arab Emirates

The United Arab Emirates

The federation of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) was formed on the 2nd of December 1971 and comprises the emirates of Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ras Al Khaimah, Fujairah, Ajman and Umm Al Quwain. The President is His Highness Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan who is also the ruler of the emirate of Abu Dhabi, in which the UAE's capital, the city of Abu Dhabi, is found.

United Arab Emirates Map

The emirate of Sharjah

Sharjah is the third largest of the seven emirates that make up the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and is the only emirate to have direct land access to both the Arabian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman.

An emirate of contrasts, boasting some of the region's most beautiful scenery and its greatest diversity, Sharjah offers a plethora of options that cater to every taste. Visitors to this exciting destination can enjoy a holiday in the sun, discover traditional markets (souks) or visit modern shopping malls, explore its many heritage sites and museums – the city is known as the cultural heart of the Emirates, admire the majestic mosques, stroll around the lagoons, and experience the natural beauty of true Arabian deserts, mountains, and seas.

Plan Your Visit